Golden Rivers Theatre Group

Theatre in the Central Murray
Village Scene - Opening Scene of Cinderella
60s Disco Scene
Paris sets off from Troy to Greece
Cast Photo

About Us

Golden Rivers Theatre Group is a community theatre group based in Barham NSW, in the heart of the Central Murray region. GRTG performs both musicals and plays and brings together a wide cross section of the rural community.

History of GRTG
In 1990 a group of keen volunteers decided to raise some funds for the local community hospital. The means was a concert hall musical performance. This group grew over several years, becoming incorporated as Golden Rivers Theatre Group in 1995. Musical productions have been the major focus of GRTG, though several plays have been performed in the later years.
In 2007 GRTG acquired the management of the Faulkner Pavilion at the Barham Recreation Reserve. The under-utilised building was gradually transformed into a performing arts facility that is used for music and theatre workshops, school performances and visiting groups as well as being the home of GRTG.

Why We Do What We Do
GRTG is a group of dedicated amateur performers who work with great enthusiasm to prepare and perform shows for the local community, with the occasional performance being taken on tour. The group provides the opportunity for local talent, known and new, to find, develop and hone their skills and love of all things theatre. The age range, though depending on the show, can be from 12 to 80, and as everyone comes together regularly to rehearse, sing, practice scenes, dance, dialogue, build, paint, sew, play with light and sound, laugh and grow new friendships, a theatre family is born.
Over the years we have seen more than 250 members, over 100 of them being children and teens. More than 10% of these young people have moved into jobs and study related to the performing arts. How fabulous is that! The members and friends of GRTG take great pride in the company and the Pavlova, as our facility is affectionately called. Many, many hours of time, work and love have made it what it is today, and we would welcome any new members. Why not join us, even if it’s just for a cuppa on our Member events!

2015 Committee:
President- Tracey Timms
Vice President- Neale Sommersby
Secretary- Courtney Dean
Treasurer- Judi Ficken
Ordinary Members- Mel Walden Mills, Linda Van Rensburg,
Michael Douthat, Ann Douthat, Scott Murphy, Ruth Arthur,
Public Officer- Judi Ficken